Liturgical Seasons and Feast Days

The liturgical year of the Church is made up of six seasons:

  • Advent - four weeks of preparation before the celebration of Jesus' birth
  • Christmas  - recalling the Nativity of Jesus Christ and his manifestation to the peoples of the world
  • Lent - a six-week period of penance before Easter  Click HERE for more resources
  • Easter Paschal Triduum - the holiest "Three Days" of the Church's year, where we recall the suffering, death, and resurrection of Jesus
  • Easter Time - 50 days of joyful celebration of the Lord's resurrection from the dead and his sending forth of the Holy Spirit
  • Ordinary Time - divided into two sections (one span of 4-8 weeks after Christmas Time and another lasting about six months after Easter Time), wherein the faithful consider the fullness of Jesus' teachings and works among his people
  • The Jesuit Liturgical Calendar

Feast of the Assumption by Raphael


January 1:  The Feast of Mary, Mother of God  (Holy Day of Obligation)

January 6:  The Feast of the Epiphany (Beginning of Mardi Gras season)

March 17:  St Patrick's Day

March 19:  Solemnity of St. Joseph

EASTER Sunday (The first Sunday after the first full moon following the March equinox.)

Ascension Thursday  (40 days after Easter Sunday / Holy Day of Obligation)

July 31: The Feast of St. Ignatius, Founder of the Society of Jesus

August 2:  St Peter Favre, Co-Founder of the Society of Jesus (F)

August 15: The Feast of the Assumption   Why Do We Celebrate the Feast of the Assumption? Read HERE >>

November 1:  All Saints’ Day  (Holy Day of Obligation)

November 2:  All Soul's Day

December 3:  St. Francis Xavier, Co-Founder of the Society of Jesus 

December 8:  Feast of the Immaculate Conception  (Holy Day of Obligation)

December 12:  Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe

December 25:  Christmas Day (Holy Day of Obligation)